Bad Blood (56)

Each day, Joe, Sarah and Dog Tooth would visit. At first, Sarah had been inconsolable, convinced that I was going to die – probably due to Joe’s elaborate distortion of the facts. Finally, I made her ask the doctor, who explained that I was going to be fine, which caused her, rather touchingly to cry with joy. To my eternal shame, I found this emotional response very gratifying – she obviously felt as deeply about me as I did her.

Sarah would stay with me in the evenings whilst Tooth and Joe would turn up at different times throughout the day – whenever work allowed. Alfie also visited twice, the first time bringing with him a basket of fruit that his wife had prepared.

On the day before my release, Joe was with me when the doctor came rushing into the room. He started making a fuss around me, plumping up my pillows and straightening the bed clothes. “What’s going on Doc?” I asked, “It’s only Joe, not royalty.” The doctor’s response left Joe and me stunned.

“Mr. Reece is downstairs, and he wants to see you.”

Continues tomorrow or download the complete novel here

Leave a Reply

